Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Bench Talk / Off The Wire

History Lesson


By Fred Wallace


Hi, this is Fred Wallace with " Off the Wire ".

I mentioned earlier that the CWOSSA Boys & Girls Curling Championships are being hosted at the Southampton and Port Elgin Curling Clubs tomorrow & Wednesday

Recently, the Saugeen District Royals made high school curling history for the school when they captured the Gore Mutual School Boys Championship at Sarnia.

The Royals rink coached by Al Walker was skipped by Jack Middleton & included  Sam Hastings, Eric Ruegg and Adam Mekky who managed to shade a school from Pembroke with their last shot to win the title

Following their victory, the Saugeen District crew examined the Championship Trophy and could find no other SDSS rink listed as School Boy Champions.

Closest to home, they backtracked 15 years to 2003 when OSCVI won the crown.

The 2003 Falcons were skipped by Derek Abbotts and included Mitchell Gillespie, Brett Abbotts & Greg McArthur plus Jim Abbotts was the coach

And going further back......the next local rink the Royals found on the Gore Trophy was also from OSCVI, and featured Denis Moffatt, Bob Lemon, Pete Trelford and skip Keith Walker, winners of the Gore Mutual School Boy Championship in......1958.

I'm Fred Wallace

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc